Duels or Progressive carb?

Chassis & Electrical. Ask a question, share your knowledge, build it right.

Moderator: Ken

Duels or Progressive carb?

Postby TobyG » 13 Fri Aug, 2010 8:21 pm

I’m new to the VW world ,which would be better on my buggy? I want to replace the solex carb for something that is easy to tune and reliable to use.
TobyG
Buggy Builder

Re: Duels or Progressive carb?

Postby Jack Duncan » 13 Fri Aug, 2010 9:44 pm

It helps to know what size engine you have. Mine is a 1915cc and I have dual Weber 44s on it. I love it, and haven't had any trouble. Runs great, but if you are looking for decent milage you must keep your foot out of it. But that's no fun. :D
White Bandit
Jack Duncan
Buggyholic

Postby GregR » 13 Fri Aug, 2010 10:06 pm

progressives aren't particularly easy to tune.
Dual Kads or Webers are.
GregR
GregR
Site Admin

Postby TobyG » 14 Sat Aug, 2010 6:11 am

I forgot the important information. It has duel port heads and was told it’s a 1600 but I have not had the heads of to be sure. It has the solex 34 carb and bosh 009 distributor. It also has duel exhaust that I am not ready to change.
TobyG
Buggy Builder

Postby GregR » 14 Sat Aug, 2010 8:02 am

Without knowing what's inside your enging, it's a little tough making recommendations. The fact you're running a stock carb likely means your running a stock 1600 engine. So obviously the most reliable will be a stock Solex pict 33-34 carb. Bill K runs this setup.

For a little more oomph on an engine up to say 1835 or maybe 1915, you can go with dual Kadrons like those available from the likes of AJ Simms (although I would bet several of our sponsors could set you up.) The Kadron setup is made up of 2- brosol-solex, single throat 40mm carbs. I have that setup on my 1776 (with 009) and love it.